Share this page:

Annie Lennox - Nostalgia CD

Price:  $13.99

On Nostalgia, Annie Lennox pays tribute to some of the greatest artists of the 20th century – including Hoagy Carmichael, Duke Ellington, George Gershwin, Billie Holiday and Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – and interprets compositions that have moved her, stripping them down to their emotional and musical core and making them her own. "To have been given the opportunity to record these classic, timeless songs on such a significant label as Blue Note, representing 75 years of legendary jazz history, is truly a privilege for me," said Annie Lennox.


Aretha Franklin - Sings The Great Diva Classics CD

Price:  $12.99

Aretha Franklin, the incomparable "Queen of Soul," releases her highly anticipated brand new studio LP Aretha Franklin Sings The Dreat Diva Classics, featuring the albums lead single, Adele's "Rolling In The Deep (The Aretha Version)." Aretha's unsurpassed vocal styling permeates on popular diva classics ranging from Barbra Streisand's "People," and Gladys Knight's "Midnight Train To Georgia," to Alicia Keys' "No One," and a mash up of Gloria Gaynor's "I Will Survive" and Destiny's Child's "I m A Survivor," and more. Also lauded as a skillful pianist, Aretha tickles the ivories on The Supremes' "You Keep Me Hangin' On."


Army of the Pharaohs - Heavy Lies the Crown CD

Price:  $13.99

Army of The Pharaohs returns just six months after the release of In Death Reborn with its second of two albums planned for 2014. Heavy Lies The Crown is the result of one of the most productive creative periods of the AOTP crew's 16-year history. ''When we started working on In Death Reborn, the songs kept coming and by the time we looked up, we realized we had enough material for two albums,'' says AOTP front man, Vinnie Paz. ''The hardest part for us over the years has been getting everyone back together again after finishing one record to make the next record, so we just decided to keep things rolling and make two records at one time.'' The Army of The Pharaohs crew was founded in 1998 by Jedi Mind Tricks frontman Vinnie Paz as homage to the incredible rap crews of the 80's and early 90's. The Army of The Pharaohs has, from its outset, been an ever-evolving collective of celebrated emcees from the indie hip-hop scene.


Budos Band - Burnt Offering CD

Price:  $13.99

Since making their Daptone debut nearly a decade ago, The Budos Band have mastered the art of staying the course in the evolution of their brassy, Afrobeat-inspired instrumental funk. Even when they color outside the lines, such experiments never stray from the 10-piece group’s original recipe. However, on this excellent fourth full-length, the band darkens up their trademark sound to reflect its sinister title—an old Hebrew biblical term for animal sacrifice. Burnt Offering is by far their most electric album to date, with guitarist Tom Brenneck’s fuzzed-out, Sabbath-inspired licks front and center across such heady, hard-driving workouts as “The Sticks,” “Black Hills” and the freaky title cut, which utilizes the same kind of tape machine used by Pink Floyd in the Syd days. The Budos boys mean serious business this time.


Cold War Kids - Hold My Home CD

Price:  $13.99

Between their strong comeback with Dear Miss Lonelyhearts, the promising side project French Style Furs, and Hold My Home, Cold War Kids had a creative rebirth in the mid-2010s. Recorded at their own studio, the band's fifth album is charged with an intimacy and intensity that began returning to their music with Lonelyhearts.


Jerry Garcia - Garcia Live Volume 5 CD

Price:  $13.99

The fifth installment of the Garcialive series collects archival footage of the only New Year's Eve show any incarnation of the Jerry Garcia Band performed, recorded at the tiny Berkeley, California club the Keystone on the last day of 1975. Garcia's band of drummer Greg Errico, bassist John Kahn, and keyboardist Nicky Hopkins is joined on the second and third sets by familiar Grateful Dead members Bob Weir and Mickey Hart as well as harmonica player Matthew Kelly on several tracks. A particularly loose, appropriately celebratory feeling flows through much of the sets as the band wanders through seemingly completely unrehearsed instrumental interludes, briefly visiting themes like "God Save the Queen" (the traditional melody, not the Sex Pistols version still a few years from coming into existence) and a bumbling jam on the Beatles' "Mother Nature's Son."


Neil Diamond - Melody Road CD

Price:  $13.99

Neil Diamond, one of the world's premiere recording artists, internationally renowned and record-breaking concert performer and revered songwriter, is set to release his brand new studio album. The album marks his first original studio release in six years and first since signing with Capitol Records. Acclaimed producers Don Was and Jacknife Lee co-produced the album. In addition, there will be a special 36-page lyric book with guitar chords included in the packaging of each album. It takes tremendous vision, focus and determination - combined with a mega-dose of God-given talent, charisma and soul - to create music that becomes indelibly ingrained in the fabric of our culture, shared Melody Road co-producer and Blue Note President Don Was. For decade after decade, Neil's songs have been such a major part of our lives. Making this record with him has served as a profound reminder of what a powerful and amazing artist he truly is, he continued.


Primus - Primus & The Chocolate Factory with the Fungi Ensemble CD

Price:  $10.99

The definitive Primus line-up Les Claypool, guitarist Larry LaLonde, and drummer Tim Alexander - is back together and set to release their first full-length studio set in nearly 20 years, 'Primus & the Chocolate Factory, due out on ATO Records on October 21. "The idea was to combine the Frog Brigade and Primus, and do this record, says Claypool. I think like a good portion of the planet, we were all pretty put off by the remake of the 'Willy Wonka' movie - the Tim Burton version. I really wanted to pay homage to a film [1971's 'Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory,' starring Gene Wilder] that was very important to me as a kid and very influential to me musically. So that's what we did. And as opposed to just going in and recording the songs and playing them the way they are in the film, we twisted them up a bit...twisted them up a lot."


Scott Walker + Sunn O))) - Soused CD

Price:  $14.99

When Sunn O))) first approached Scott Walker about appearing on their 2009 album Monoliths & Dimensions, they didn't know what it would actually lead to. Four years on, Scott returned with something even more enticing, collaborating on Soused, a body of work he was writing with them in mind. Recorded in London in early 2014 and produced by Scott Walker and long-time ally Peter Walsh with the assistance of musical director Mark Warman, Soused is a 5-track, 50-minute record that cements the status of both acts' wide-reaching and otherworldly renown.


Thurston Moore - The Best Day CD

Price:  $12.99

Though his discography is littered with dozens of explorations in noise, improv side projects, and collaborations with other fringe-dwelling artists, Sonic Youth main man Thurston Moore's most visible solo offerings are spare and often with years between them. The moody guitar rock daydream of 1995's Psychic Hearts didn't see a proper follow-up until 2007's Trees Outside the Academy. The Beck-produced 2011 effort Demolished Thoughts was decidedly more subdued, offering up whisper-thin acoustic folk and a more toned-down take on the type of instrumental experimentation Moore began crafting with Sonic Youth back in the early '80s. The Best Day stands as the next major chapter in Moore's body of song-friendly solo work and returns to his signature songwriting style and meditative, sprawling guitar rock deconstruction.